Six Models of Teaching for Moral Development

From: Volume III, Issue 2: Spring 1983 Pages 14-29


In this article the authors present six models of teaching values development. Three methods of classifying the models are presented, including content-oriented or structure-oriented, pre-Kohlberg or post-Kohlberg, and acquisitional or developmental. Each of the six models is described in terms of teaching procedures, assumptions about learning, the nature of values, moral development, and educational objectives. Finally, the authors present six criteria for teachers to use in evaluating the models.



Buy This Article:
Buy Full Issue:
Biola University
13800 Biola Ave. La Mirada, CA 90639
© Biola University, Inc. All Rights Reserved.